In the south of the Eure, in Verneuil d'Avre and Iton, discover the Saint-Nicolas abbey, in the heart of the old town.
Saint-Nicolas Abbey was founded in 1627 for Benedictine nuns. Among the Norman abbeys, that of Verneuil is one of the few that is still standing on its original site. Monastic life was only interrupted there in 2001. The buildings of the abbey form a quadrilateral backed by the church of Saint-Nicolas. The grounds are bordered towards the countryside by the old ditches and part of the old rampart of the formerly fortified city, which date from the 12th century.
Guided tours organized by the Normandy South Eure Tourist Office (02 32 32 17 17).
The chapel is open for free on the days and opening hours of the Ermitage shop / tea room (06 62 11 98 95) depending on availability of the place. In addition, the Hermitage offers a treasure hunt "The Sacred Cartulary of the Abbey" to do with the family (3€).
- Average duration of the individual visit: 120 min
- Average duration of the group visit: 120 min
- Groups of 10 to 60 people welcome.
- Free parking
- Bar, cafeteria, tea room
- Indoor games, play case, books
- Site accessible to strollers
Activities on site
- Specific thematic animation
- Children's workshop
- Temporary exhibitions
Prices & payment methods
Adult prices: € 4 to € 9 depending on the theme of the visit.
Child rates: free at 9 € depending on the theme of the visit.
- Credit card
- French bank and postal checks
- French "Chèques vacances"
- Contactless payment
Guided tours on request from the Tourist Office every day of the year.